Squad for Bangabandhu Cup without Sujan, Zarwan, Rifnaz


The 23 man Sri Lanka squad for the upcoming Bangabandhu Gold Cup was announced with a number of changes from the SAFF Suzuki Cup, notably the absence of Sujan Perera, Zarwan Johar and Mohamed Rifnaz.

Zarwan and Rifnaz were dropped from the squad due to fatigue and injury while Sujan was also left out due to fatigue. Mohamed Issadeen is also not in the squad as he is reported to have retired from international duty.

In their places come the exciting Sri Lanka U19 and Saunders SC players, Suntharaj Niresh and Shaheel Azar. Replacing Sujan Perera is Army SC reserve goalkeeper Danushka Rajapakse. Apart from them Chathuranga Madushan, Mohamed Nuskan, Sahayam Godwin and Roshan Appuhami make their way into the squad.

Football Federation has also appointed a new captain in Kavindu Ishan who was the vice-captain in the SAFF Suzuki Cup.

Sri Lanka Squad

Prabath Arunasiri (GK) – Asikur Rahuman (DF) – Sajith Kumara (MF) – Chalana Chameera (MF) – Madushan De Silva (FW) – Hakeem Kamil (DF) – Subash Madushan (DF) – Chathuranga Sanjeewa (MF) – Dumidu Hettiarachchi (DF) – Nalaka Roshan (MF) – Kavindu Ishan (FW) – Gnanaruban Vinoth (MF) – Kaveesha Fernando (GK) – Nipuna Bandara (FW) – Edison Figurado (MF) – Sanka Danushka (MF) – Chathuranga Madushan (DF) – Mohamed Nuskan (DF) – Sahayam Godvin (MF) – Appuhami Roshan (DF) – Suntharaj Niresh (MF) – Shaheel Azar (FW) – Danushka Rajapakse (GK)